United Kingdom
United Kingdom
Australia
Belgium
France
Germany
Holland
Hungary
Iceland
Ireland
Latvia
New Zealand
Norway
Poland
Romania
Scotland
Slovakia
Sweden (North)
Sweden (South)
Switzerland
Mon - Fri / 07:00 - 17:00
|
cncenquiries@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+44 (0) 1432 346 190
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
australia@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+61 3 9794 6675
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
belgium@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+32 9 355 74 26
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
france@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+33 3 87 92 89 80
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
germany@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+49 7121 14950
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
holland@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+31 615055 040
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
hungary@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+3693516 460
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
iceland@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+354 555 2035
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
ireland@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
028 2827 3233
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
latvia@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+371 67 381957
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
newzealand@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+64 800 699 353
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
norway@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+47 928 06 127
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
poland@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+48 81 504-93-77
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
romania@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+40 799-843 300
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
scotland@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
01463 717999
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
slovakia@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+421 (0) 43 400 34 36
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
northsweden@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+46921-51035
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
southsweden@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+46 8 28 91 00
Mon - Fri / 08:00 - 17:00
|
switzerland@plasmacnc.co.uk
|
+41 31 740 31 00
Book a Demo

Tips to Improve Quality of Cut on Metal

Tips to Improve Quality of Cut on Metal

There are many ways by which the cut quality on the metal can be improved. Here are some tips by which you can improve the appearance of the cut and some of the factors that must be considered are:

Is the arc cutting in the correct direction?

You can get the squarest cuts on the right side when the plasma torch moves forward. For this, you must check the cut direction and also adjust the direction if required. When you make use of standard consumables, typically, the plasma arc spins in the clockwise direction.

Is the cutting process correct for the type of material and thickness of the material being cut?

Always refer to the cutting specifications provided in the instruction manual and ensure that you select the proper process according to the type of metal, the thickness of the metal, desired quality of the cut and the productivity goals.

You must choose the right shield and plasma gas if you’re making use of a dual-gas plasma system. Also, the correct parameters for the gas pressure, arc voltage, torch-to-work distance and cutting speed must be selected. And finally, you must use the correct consumables for the job.

Are the consumables worn out?

Check the consumables of the plasma cutter for any wear and replace the consumables that are worn out. It is recommended that you replace both the electrode and the nozzle at the same time and the O-rings should not be over-lubricated.

Is the position of the plasma torch square to the work?

You must level the workpiece and also check if it is warped or bent. The plasma torch should be then positioned square to the workpiece from the side and the rear of the plasma torch.

Is the torch set at a proper height?

Ensure that the distance setting from the torch to the work is correct and if you’re making use of arc voltage control, then you must adjust the voltage. The angularity can be affected by the distance between the torch to the work. In the case of a negative cut angle, the torch may be too low and you must increase the distance between the torch to the work; whereas, in the case of a positive cut angle, the torch is very high and you must reduce the distance of torch to work.

Is the cutting speed too fast or very slow?

The cutting speed must be adjusted as the cutting speed can affect the dross levels. If the cutting speed is very fast, it causes the arc to lag and causes high-speed dross. So, you need to reduce the cutting speed. If the cutting is done at a very low speed, then low-speed dross is produced, and you must increase the speed of cutting.

A fast cutting speed also causes top spatter. The dross levels are also impacted by the surface finish and material chemistry and as the workpiece gets heated up, there may be more production of dross on the cuts.

Is there any problem with the power delivery?

You must check if there are any leaks in the power delivery system and repair them. It is essential to use regulators that are of the right size and fit and always make use of high-quality consumables.

Is there any vibration in the torch?

You must ensure that the plasma torch is fixed securely to the table gantry and that there is no vibration. If the table requires any maintenance, then you should consult the OEM.

Does the table require any tuning?

Ensure that the plasma cutting table is cutting at the specific speed and if the table speed requires any tuning, then you must consult the OEM.

Following all the above steps ensures the proper working of your plasma cutting system and also ensures that you get high-quality cuts, thereby improving the overall efficiency of your plasma cutting operation.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Get More Information

If you have any questions feel free to contact us.